Meet the family

The Oakleys welcome you into their extended family home. Originally from Oxford, the family moved to Wales back in the 1980s. Peter, Lesley and their daughter Bianca decided to relocate to Y Ddol after Peter, who worked as a Registered Community Psychiatric Nurse, retired. Lesley is also now retired after spending many years working as a Registered Nurse in Intensive Care Units across Wales. The family home now also includes three grandchildren, 1 Labrador, 2 alpacas, numerous outdoor cats and many rescue ex-battery ducks/hens and cockerels. 

Further information

The family all follow a 'Vegan' lifestyle although do eat eggs from their free-range rescue hens/ducks.

Heating of the house and pool is via the bio-mass boiler and other greener energy resources are being explored for the future to off-set the electricity demands.

Recycling and composting is promoted, and wherever possible and practical the family explore ways to use less plastic and source items from responsible suppliers with 'green' credentials.

Diet

A warm welcome to given to all, and although the home is 'Vegan' (except the eggs), non vegans are more than welcome to stay and try our meat and dairy-free breakfast.

Special Dietary requirements can be catered for, please call at least a week before your stay to discuss your needs.

Children

We suggest any children staying are over the age of six, due to the stream/river/pool location. There are no 'extra' bed facilities, so children would occupy the same bed space as adults. Prices are per room not per person. Maximum occupancy per room is two persons.  Saunas and hot tub use are for 12 years plus. Children need to be supervised at all times in the pool area as well as the gardens due to the direct access to the stream and river.